Football catch up.

Welcome back ladies and gents to my space of the internet. Yes, I acknowledge that I’ve been missing for a good while but what’s most important is that I’m here and I’m staying. So what has been happening in the football world? A lot. That’s for sure. With the now concluded Euro’s and Copa America, the buzz these days has been around the different transfers. I’ve been told that a certain Manchester Club has finally remembered who they are. Just for clarifications, this is no preview this is simply a bitesize look at the football world and a way to reacquaint yourselves with me. That reminds me, if you’re new here, my name is Karen Gacheri just a girl who loves both football and writing and showcases her adoration for both on this blog.

So shall we begin?

The summer for football fans is always a period of mixed reactions. For one, there is no league football, so there’s no Friday buzz or Saturday lunch time anticipation. This leaves space for some obscure comparisons on social media (mostly twitter) the latest being Mahrez> Salah. I mean, what??? This also enables the football faithful to build expectations for their respective clubs and favorite players. Every other summer ,however, the whole football world is treated to world and continental tournaments. This year we were treated to the delayed European Championships and Copa America. I didn’t watch a single Copa America match so I have no ground to comment on it but the Euros. What was that honestly? That was just a whole dream because it was so entertaining, so festive and so emotional. There were so many goals, so many breakout performances, so many controversial moments. After the year football has had, we really did deserve that. As a Manchester United fan watching these Euro’s a neutral I can say that I fully enjoyed those stress-free games. Although I did want to see my star boys clinch the trophy, Italy ran out worthy winners and fully deserved it.

Before some of you come for me, I also recognize Lionel Messi for completing football. I can’t lie, those full time scenes were amazing to see. At least he’s finally caught up to the goat.

But, that’s all over and I sadly have to go back to seeing Victor Lindelof play for my club. Psyyycchheeeee. Yes finally, we have a competent partner for the skipper at Manchester United. In addition to him, the reds manage to finally secure the services of sensation Jadon Sancho. After 3 years, we finally got him. I can’t even begin to explain what this does to this team. Tactically, aesthetically oh my gosh if I start I won’t stop. Perhaps I’ll just write another blog post about how Jadon Sancho will revolutionize Manchester United. With also Tom Heaton also coming in and just under a month of the transfer window to go, John Murtough seems to be making up for lost time. But it’s not all roses in Carrington. With the news of key players like Dean Henderson contracting the COVID 19 virus and visa problems for Varane, United are still looking like having their annual slow start to the season especially with their first game being against the fittest side in the league, Leeds.

Across the road, the blues of Manchester are lining up the two biggest moves in premier league history. They are seriously looking at bringing Jack Grealish and Harry Kane to the Etihad for over 200M pounds. With FFP’s pockets already lined, the club are looking at completing these moves in the next few weeks and they just have to hope that will finally be enough to win the Champions league. Rumors have it that players such as Sterling have run their race at the club but this was before his ‘streets won’t forget’ performance at the European Championship. For a club that just let Werner win the Champions league they don’t seem to be looking at any midfield or defensive options maybe apart from Nuno Mendes. But when you have money like that there’s no hurry. But honestly, if we’re looking tactically, how would a front four of Kane, Foden, Grealish and De Bryne work? Let me save these debates for my preview. But City are favorites of course and if they get those two, the league will be wrapped up by December.

As for London, news of transfers has been from the north alone. Arsenal have been very busy in the market and with good reason. After the abysmal season they had last time, they had to dip in the market for reinforcements. Good ones as well, apart from securing the signature of teenage sensation Emile Smith Rowe the gunners got Tavares, Lokonga and White. The 50M pound transfer of Ben White from Brighton raised a lot of eyebrows but in my opinion it was a really great move. Don’t forget, Jurgen Klopp wanted this guy last season and we know he has an eye for center backs. I believe this will do this Arsenal side good but job’s not finished. If they’re to mount any source of comeback in football they will need so much more.

Tottenham on the other hand are on the wrong side of transfer gossip. After turning down a 100M pound bid for their star Harry Kane from Manchester City, the club has just been on rocks. After their manager fiasco, and now Harry Kane boycotting training, it’s not looking so good for them. The only thing they can hold on to for now is the imminent signing of center back Cristian Romero from Atalanta and Heung Min Son’s new contract. For them I think that they’re better off allowing Harry Kane to leave. His back must be hurting after carrying them for like the past five years. They should just let him go and move on. Holding on to star players like this is just small club behavior.

For the last London club there’s not much to report on this end because they’ve not done any business. The reigning UEFA Champions seem to be resting on their laurels and why not? I don’t think I can point an obvious weakness in their team. Oh wait, Timo Werner still starts at 9 for them.. Yes, they desperately need a number 9 and now that the Haaland rumors have cooled down we can look at realistic options. News coming out today is that a 100m Euros + Alonso has been turned down by Inter for Romelu Lukaku. If they got Romelu Lukaku, it’s safe to say that as a Manchester United fan I would not be so alarmed. But now that that looks unlikely, what are other avenues that can be pursued? I saw someone talk of Danny Ings. weh😂😂 With City also in the market for a striker, will we be seeing a blue brawl? I hope so.

For Liverpool, they have been very quiet on the transfer front considering the season they had. After wrapping up the Konate deal very early few whispers have been heard from Anfield and this has been a big worry among the Liverpool faithful. With talks of Jarrod Bowen, other of Saul Niguez but no talk from the Tier 1’s its not looking promising from the reds.

Less strengthening has been done by the ‘rest’ as compared to last season with the likes of Leicester and Everton being relatively quiet in the market. But we still have about a month of this to go. This coming month is going to be a roller coaster. I haven’t even got into Pogba and PSG and Mbappe and Madrid. Let’s leave some for later. All we can do for now is hope our clubs make the right moves and enjoy the drama unfold around us.

As for me, I will now be consistently posting weekly and I would love to hear some of the content you would love to see. Expect an overload of content in the next 12 days in preparation for this legacy season we are about to witness. It you prefer to hear my voice over reading all of this, watch out for me and Ray on the Banter and Vibes Podcast airing weekly. I’m so glad that you made it this far and feel free to share with all your football fanatic friends. Reach out to me on all of my social media’s but for now, Goodbye and see you very soon😉

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close